A Very Happy Birthday Indeed

I’m writing this post at 2 a.m. because I had to write now, when I still feel this surge of emotion in my heart. This year’s birthday saw another strike-through in my Bucket List!

I wasn’t happy about turning 22. Because being 22 means I continue to be an adult. But you all made me so incredibly happy, I teared up. I quite like being 22 now, because these 2 hours gave me so many memories to cherish. And all I can think right now is

I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be all right if
We just keep dancing like we’re
22

The moment I stepped out of my room, I was greeted by excited screams, jigglypuff’s song, and the shimmer of fairy lights and candles in the dark. And then came the tears, for a couple of seconds, but they were there nonetheless.

Thank you for the wonderful track – with Jigglypuff, Pikachu and Boom Boody! Thank you for the beautiful decorations, thank you for all the effort you put into making this day special for me. Thank you for the great gifts. I love them all! Thank you for the surprise visit, for the dance performance, for your birthday wishes. Most of all, thank you for all the memories.

I missed a lot of people, who couldn’t be here today. I wish you were here, so we could stay up and talk all night. But you were, in one way or another. Being physically absent doesn’t mean you’re not a part of my life anymore. After college, we’ve all moved on to different phases in our lives, but you’ll always be a part of mine.

I wish my parents were here, just like they were for 17 years. I wish my sister were here to trouble me. And I wish my dog were here, wondering what all the fuss is about and why we aren’t asleep yet. I miss you all dearly, but I’ll be seeing you in a week.

Two more stuffed toys have now been added to my collection. Welcome, Minion and Pikachu.

Another year older, but am I a year wiser? Yes. Yes I am.

Leave a Reply

